Renegade Convergence
for full orchestra

        Throughout music history, composers have been influenced by the dance music of the day.  During the Baroque Period, dances like the courante and gigue were incorporated into Bach’s music.  Mozart and other composers during the Classic Period incorporated the dance of the minuet into the symphony.  Romantic Period composers such as Chopin and Liszt used the waltz, mazurka and polonaise dances as a composition form.  During the Twentieth Century, dance music gained a larger audience because of the ability to record music.  Debussy wrote a piano piece based on Cakewalk dancing and Stravinsky wrote pieces using Ragtime.  Later in the century, composers such as Gershwin and Bernstein used the popular music and dance form, Jazz.  Composers such as John Adams use the influence of Rock and Roll in his music.
         Renegade Convergence incorporates the same tradition of using popular dance music as an influence when composing a piece.  The dance music of the Twenty-First Century is mainly electronic.  Renegade Convergence is a concert setting of a dance music known as techno.  Techno usually has a bass drum hit on every beat while the hi-hat is played on the off beat or played as constant sixteenth notes.  Techno also has a melody over an ostinato and a repeating rhythmic bass line.  Renegade Convergence takes the musical style of techno to a more complex level.  The rhythm of the melodic fragments are much more complex and syncopated.  The fragments are layered upon different melodic fragments to create a polyrhythmic sound. 

Duration:  7.5 Minutes
Number of measures:  174
Number of pages (Score):  28


Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
Bb Clarinet 1
Bb Clarinet 2
Bb Bass Clarinet

French Horn 1
French Horn 2
French Horn 3
French Horn 4
C Trumpet 1
C Trumpet 2
Trombone 1
Trombone 2


Mallets - Orchestra Bells

Percussion - Bass Drum, Hi-Hat, Tom-toms, Woodblock, Cowbell, Snare Drum, Suspended Cymbal


Measure Score

If you are interested in purchasing this piece please email me at:


Back to the
Works List *
Performance History

This piece was premiered by the CSULB Symphony Orchestra and was conducted by Eric D. Sharp on December 9, 1996 at the Daniel Recital Hall in Long Beach, CA.